Life’s Rich Pageant

With 2011 drawing to a close, it’s almost time for us to reflect on the year that’s been. I’m not doing it just now, but I thought I’d give you the template I usually use for you to do it yourself if you feel so inclined! Of course you don’t have to use all or any of the questions I use here. Some of them might be a bit personal. You can do it personally, on your own blog, as a comment here, or not at all.

So, here they are in all their narcissistic glory:

What, for you, was the high point of 2011? Were there any other highlights?

What, for you, was the low point of 2011?

Tell me some things you learned this year.

Who would be your “person of 2010″? It could be someone you know or a famous person who’s inspired you.

What was the best film you saw this year?

And what was the worst?

What was the best book you read?

What was the best thing you saw on TV?

What, for you, was the sporting highlight of 2011?

What was the best album or song you heard in 2011? What song did you play most?

What are you looking forward to in 2012?

Any other suggestions of questions will be appreciated!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life’s Rich Pageant

  1. Lara says:

    1. What, for you, was the high point of 2011? Were there any other highlights?
    Hearing from an old friend and making plans to reconnect. Receiving my travel grant.
    My 2 year old nephew telling me I was his best friend.

    2. What, for you, was the low point of 2011?

    – Learning that my friend is going to war
    – My cat (and long-time friend) Garry died while I was in China. The low point was getting to the sleeper train from Shanghai to Beijing; my face was swollen from crying, and there were no real cabs so I took a motorcycle rickshaw to the train station. The ride involved me holding the suitcase so it wouldn’t fall off the rickshaw, being pelted in the face by particulate, and wondering if this was how I was going to die.
    3. Tell me some things you learned this year.
    -having a home is underrated
    -don’t walk through the meadows at 4am
    -just because there are no bedbugs in a motel doesn’t mean you’re home-free re: insect infestations
    4. Who would be your “person of 2011″? It could be someone you know or a famous person who’s inspired you.
    A couple of old friends.
    5. What was the best film you saw this year?
    “Sunshine” (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0448134/) and “Moon” (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1182345/)
    6. And what was the worst?
    It’s a toss-up between The Adjustment Bureau and Beastly but I think Beastly wins.
    7. What was the best book you read?
    Anna Karenina
    8. What was the best thing you saw on TV?
    Game of Thrones
    9. What, for you, was the sporting highlight of 2011?
    Those few weeks when I went to the gym regularly
    10. What was the best album or song you heard in 2011? What song did you play most?
    Rocket Man sung by Maynard from Tool, Upward over the Mountain by Iron and Wine, Murder in the City by the Avett brothers, all the BadLipReading songs.
    11. What are you looking forward to in 2012?
    Figuring out where I’m going after this. Maybe moving away from nomadism as a lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

