Around The Sun: A Personal Review of 2012

I’ll be honest, I don’t really have a great deal to say just now (I’ve kind of lost blogging momentum), but I always do this, so let’s go!

What was your personal high point of 2012? Were there any other highlights?

There wasn’t a high point as such. A few good things have happened this year: I got promoted, I had a paper accepted for publication, went to New Word Alive and really enjoyed it (despite some nay-sayers not liking the accommodation ;)) and taught myself Ancient Greek. I really enjoyed Judith and Joe’s wedding in July, not least because I got to see some folk I hadn’t seen in ages, and got know others I see all the time but don’t really get to talk to better.

What was your low point of 2012?

I can’t go into a great deal of detail about it, but I had to make a decision early in the year. While I’m confident that I made the right decision (the alternative would have been to compromise my faith), I’ve had to pick up my cross a lot as a result since then, and it’s hurt.

I’ve also been heartbroken by some of my friends’ struggles with life in general.

Oh, and Mark moved out (pleased as I am that he bought his own place).

What have you learned this year?

Doing the right thing doesn’t mean everything’s going to go well afterwards.

You can’t help everybody, and not everybody needs or wants help.

TV and Hollywood have run out of ideas.

People generally don’t dislike you unless you give them a reason to.

Who would be your “person of 2012″? It could be someone you know or a famous person who’s inspired you.

I can’t think of anyone, though a lot of people have been exceptionally kind and patient with me this year. Thank you all!

Do you have any particular films, TV shows or moments, or books that you really loved this year?

I think I read something ridiculous like 20 books this year, because I was determined to read all the ones I had lying around. I think my favourite was Crime and Punishment. In terms of TV, I thought New Girl was good, and I enjoyed this year’s Doctor Who. The Olympic opening ceremony was also superb. I didn’t really go to the cinema too much this year, but I thought Avengers Assemble was great.

What was your sporting highlight of 2012?

The Tour de France. Seriously, it’s the hardest mainstream sporting event in the world, and Bradley Wiggins deserved all the subsequent plaudits. The Brazilian Grand Prix was a great climax to the season as well. I’m also warming a bit to tennis, not least because I can pretend The Olympics were great, but I just wish I could enjoy them as a celebration of sport rather than patriotism.

What was the best album or song you heard in 2012? What song did you play most?

I haven’t listened to Radio 1 in a long, long time. Consequently, I can’t really say what the best song is, though really, a bit of Gangnam Style can’t be beat. I think the most played song is “Sleep Alone” by Two Door Cinema Club.

What are you most looking forward to in 2013?

Barring a holiday with some friends in January, I have very few plans laid out for this coming year.

The 2013 General Assembly of the Church of Scotland is looming on the horizon. Whatever happens, there’s going to be a lot of debate afterwards.

Other than that, with no weddings (yet), or other major events, 2013 is a big unknown, but that’s no bad thing. Bring it on!

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

