A St Cath’s Christmas Card 2013

I often miss saying goodbye to folk at church (especially famous actors)on the last Sunday before I go home for Christmas (tomorrow, 4:10 flight from Edinburgh to George Best, if you’re interested), so last year I kind of started a tradition of writing a “Christmas Card” blog post. Such a tradition is worth continuing, so without further ado…

A brief thing that struck me this Christmas (and this is not just because of a conversation I had with Duncan this morning about Ross County’s current woes) is Ecclesiastes, which we studied in the summer in Cord. Verse 1:10 says:

Is there anything of which one can say,
“Look! This is something new”?
It was here already, long ago;
it was here before our time.

At Christmas time, we can say “Yes” because, for the first time, God was walking among us, to free us from the bondage of sin and futility, which coincidentally, was also in the Romans study we did in the Autumn (chapter 8).

I have enjoyed things at church this year, and have been privileged to (co-) lead my small group, who are a great bunch of lads. A friend of mine came to the Cord acoustic night and she was amazed by how good the atmosphere was in the place! I know things haven’t been easy, but I think the Elders have coped well with what’s gone on this year- and (and I know I said this at the time) I think everyone was very gracious and respectful about the whole thing.

I hope I will get to celebrate Christmas with you here one day (and depending on the weather, that may be sooner than you think…), but for now, it’s off to NI for me. So, Merry Christmas, and I’ll see you all soon!

Now to him who is able to establish you in accordance with my gospel, the message I proclaim about Jesus Christ, in keeping with the revelation of the mystery hidden for long ages past, but now revealed and made known through the prophetic writings by the command of the eternal God, so that all the Gentiles might come to the obedience that comes from faith—  to the only wise God be glory forever through Jesus Christ! Amen. (Romans 16:25-27)

And as usual, for no reason, here’s a picture of a reindeer in snow.

credit_animalpictures123.org

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

