Running Man

wpid-20140525_105332.jpg

The beach between Portobello and Musselburgh

On Sunday, I took part in the Edinburgh Marathon Festival for the first time- I was part of one of three relay teams from work (shout out to Jonah, Dechlan, and David!).

I was running the first leg of the relay, at 8.5 miles/13.5km the longest leg- more than I’d ever run before and I was pleased to do it in 1h 16, and without pausing (though I would be lying if I said my pace was constant). I have already raised a fair bit for Love Oliver, and hope to raise more as I get nearer the end of my 1000km challenge (and you can still donate by clicking here).

I met the family behind Love Oliver before and after the race and they were very kind in giving me some food and a coffee afterwards as well as a Love Oliver T-Shirt. Meeting those affected by the devastating effects of childhood cancer firsthand was humbling and many would have given themselves over to bitterness and anger. But they did not and have vowed to make a difference instead, and help others going through the same, and that is brilliant.

Running an event like this, while fun and a great experience, is a reminder as to the world’s brokenness- I saw people running for (and this is all I can remember, there were far more than this!):

Cancer Research (these were many and varied)

Muscular Dystrophy

Motor Neurone Disease

Injured War Veterans

Care for the elderly

Homeless Charities

Dementia

The Sick Kids’ Hospital

Down’s Syndrome

Cystic Fibrosis

Multiple Sclerosis

and more. Disease, war, abandonment, poverty, everything in Pandora’s box- I caught myself thinking that it would be just great if we could just go running for the sake of running and that there would be nothing to raise money for.

But then the other side of that is the willingness of people to go through months of training to soften the damage that sin has brought upon us. That is fantastic. But there’s an even better hope. Revelation 21:4 says:

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more,neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.

No more disease, war, loneliness, or death, and all this in the presence of God.

(And hopefully, this will herald an end to blisters and joggers’ nipple too…)

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

