Run On

 Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 17.38.51At the start of this year, I set myself the challenge of running 1000km over the course of the year, and, God be thanked, I managed to complete this at the weekend.

I was doing this in order to raise money for Love Oliver, a childhood cancer charity. If you are so inclined, a link to donate is here.

It’s pleasing to have finished three months early, but it makes me think I should have picked a harder challenge!

I ran 153 times in 4 different towns and cities (Edinburgh, Bowmore on Islay, Prestatyn, and Brussels, since you asked- I would have done it in NI too had I not insisted on only taking hand luggage), sometimes on the treadmill (9% of the time), but mostly out on the streets. On average, I ran 6.5km (4.1 miles) at a time, with my longest run being 14km, which I did on May 31st.

The above trainers have served me well these last three years, but just last night, the sole started to come apart so I’ve had to replace them (if you’re wondering, the hole on the left shoe has been there since a couple of weeks after I bought them, its origin is unknown).

I learned quite a lot while doing it- I think that the below quote from Eric Liddell from Chariots of Fire sums it up:

I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.

I am not claiming to be fast, but he’s spot on. When I run, I feel like I’m doing something I am meant to do, and even if I’m feeling a bit tender, it feels great. It is a mercy that something that is good for you to do can also feel fun and satisfying.

Not to mention that when you run, the world doesn’t seem so big.

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

