2015: What I’ll remember

You are now watching the greatest living rockstar on the planet!

-Kanye West

2015KanyeWestLOW_Live_Glastonbury2015_3_JH270615I don’t think anything I see in what’s left of 2015 will top Kanye West’s bewilderingly absurd set at Glastonbury in which he performed under a launching rocket, poorly rendering Bohemian Rhapsody and climbing a cherry picker to go “Sky High”. Well, maybe his Brit Award performance where every second word was censored.

12400436_10101479842326521_1167582515672219846_nBizarre celebrities notwithstanding, 2015 was pretty good- even if I was wrong about the dress (I maintain that it was white and gold!). I bought a flat, won a couple of awards at work and managed to complete the Edinburgh half marathon.

On my travels, I went to Wales for Word Alive which was fun as ever, took a trip to Manchester and Liverpool, and spent a week in Vienna (frankly, I don’t know why Ultravox were so indifferent towards it, it’s brilliant).

My brother got engaged, which is super-exciting and it was great to see all the weddings this year (Duncan and Rachel, Andrew and Naomi, and Ben and Carolyn to name three).

If you’re going to remember sporting prowess, I will look no further than Northern Ireland qualifying for next year’s European Championship. I had to miss the crucial game against Greece because I had foolishly booked a train at that time, so I ended up diving into a pub and listening to it on the radio while Scotland were losing to Poland. It’s going to be weird seeing them in the finals, but in a great way!

Northern-Ireland-vs-Greece-EURO-2016-qualifier

Life is what it is and doesn’t always go how you like. I can’t thank some of you enough for the support I got that weekend in October where I didn’t know if I’d be coming back to a job on Monday. Or taking me to hospital. Or giving me a metaphorical slap in the face.Or praying with me. God’s grace is abundant in you.

I’m going to keep this post short as I am struggling to stay awake just now, but it falls to me to hope that you had a great 2015 and have an even better 2016. Who knows, maybe Marty McFly will finally show up?

The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil.

-Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

 

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

