Some photos of 2016 (free of Brexit and Celebrity Deaths)

I usually write a “year in review” type blogpost- I thought this time I would let some photos I took do the talking. Enjoy!

 

img_1643-1

I got caught in the snow in January while in town…

img_1688-1

 

But I made a new friend (he didn’t stick around long)

 

…and a few days out shopping

img_1846-1

Spring came and Edinburgh lit up again

Ross County won their first major trophy. The Hibs fans who had occupied the vacant seats were able to celebrate later on.

I discovered that people will pay and eye-watering £75 for a t-shirt…

img_2178-1

I enjoyed the new upgraded World of WarkCroft at Dave and Laura’s wedding

In May, Luke and I stumbled across a cycle race right in the middle of Edinburgh, surely the most scenic one in the UK

img_2902-1

In the first of many celebrity sightings, I met the star of the new emoji movie

In July, I took a holiday to Bordeaux with some friends, where you can cool yourself down with water jets outside the old Stock Exchange building 

My brother (hi-viz vest) had his stag do in MK. It was a blast.

img_3284-1

Then we swapped khaki for suits so he could actually get married

img_3119-1

Edinburgh put on a natural show during the festival

img_3396-1

Celebrity spotting 2: Eamonn Holmes struggling to control a dog during recording of This Morning in London

I saw a doubly patriotic display in Anstruther on the August bank holiday. Good chips too.

Morningside looked amazing in the late summer

img_3644-1

Celebrity spotting 3: one of my childhood heroes

Helena and I at the end of the Great Scottish Run-many thanks to the people of Glasgow for the sweets and encouragement

In a happy place, at Formula One’s most famous corner

Nice wasn’t bad in October

img_3773-1

The Mediterranean was inspiring

Flexible working days gave me the chance to see the centre of town at dawn

My rock, my refuge

I had a few trips away for work: this is the view in Berwick in November

Celebrity spotting 4: the Sheriff of Nottingham (or Baldrick, if you must) 

The West Bow got all lit up for Christmas

All I wanted for Christmas was a steakhouse, and boy did Edinburgh deliver

Good times with Cord. Even better times when a gas leak means you can have it at the pub.

We went to the Balmoral for a work night out, and the view was amazing.

Thanks for looking through- I’ll leave with a few words from John’s gospel to think about in the run-up to Christmas. Jesus is more than a baby, through him, we can have a closer relationship with God than we can ever imagine was possible.

Merry Christmas!

The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world. He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him.He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.

 

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

